Search Site      
Close Box Don't Miss! What's new in the Snowy Mountains
Perisher Epic Pass 799

Canberra Symphony Orchestra's ActewAGL Llewellyn Series, Piano

Canberra Symphony Orchestra's ActewAGL Llewellyn Series, Piano
The ActewAGL Llewellyn Series takes flight with one of the most colourful and diverse figures in Finnish music, Einojuhani Rautavaara. His Cantus Arcticus is an intricate piece in three movements that incorporates recordings of birds found near the Arctic Circle as well as bogs of Liminka in northern Finland. This is followed by Shostakovich’s Piano Concerto No.1 in C minor. In this piece, Principal trumpet Rainer Saville offers a sardonic commentary to Daniel de Borah’s melancholic solo piano, revealing all the wit and energy to be found in Shostakovich’s youthful piece. Finally, Conductor Jessica Cottis will guide the Orchestra through the warmest and most beloved of all Beethoven’s symphonies, Symphony No.6. It evokes an afternoon in the country outside Vienna with rippling brooks, birds, peasants dancing, the fury of a storm and relief at its passing. “A fresh approach to a work of music… usually comes to those who have a fresh approach to aspects of life, to life in general.” Shostakovich Rautavaara: Cantus Arcticus (Concerto for Birds and Orchestra), op.61 Shostakovich: Piano Concerto No.1 in C minor, op.35 Beethoven: Symphony No.6 in F major, op.68 (Pastoral)

29th Mar 2017
30th Mar 2017
Canberra Australian Capital Territory